Fire your frank feedback and forecast what follows on Agile KM…


Feedback (Credits: gforsythe / FlickR)

Sometimes I wonder if what I’m writing on this blog is of any value to anyone.

It certainly is to me, as I’ve come to realise quite a few times in the past. But at this stage I am much more interested in engaging with the readers of this blog, and the people that engage with the posts. And then I also fear my ideas might be stagnating. A former colleague of mine (not complexity & KM guru Jaap Pels) said that everyone has only three of four stories to tell and that’s it.

Have I reached that point of exhausting my stories to tell?

Have I hit a wall?

Perhaps YOU know that better than me.

Of course there are positive comments on this blog and also about this blog. That’s really great and I already expressed my gratitude in the past, especially when that feedback comes from your heart, such as a fellow KM4Dev member recently commented (on the conversation about why the World Bank’s PDFs don’t get read):

I reflected on how I find “gold” in the form of well-hidden online reports and discussion papers and there are a few ways
1. Through wonderful groups like KM4Dev – yes, we are part of the solution!
2. Through personal contacts in the organisations or other networks
3. Through conferences, workshops, meetings etc
4. Through references in other pubs.
5. Blogs – Ewen, I regularly pick up gems from your blog among others! Thanks!

Some posts get amazing ratings (the happy families of engagement – What the heck is knowledge anyways or Portrait of the modern knowledge worker).

Some get quite a few likes (The art of blogging: Taking stock – Social web metrics: between the cracks of evidence and confidence or What are we waiting for to walk our talk (on KM and comms)?)

And some of these posts remain popular through the test of time: Managing or facilitating change, not just a question of words – Tinkering with tools: what’s up with Yammer? or the eternal Learning cycle basics and more: Taking stock

People visiting this blog kindly never seem to make really difficult comments (or perhaps I’m not reading between their lines well enough)… though some post ratings are bad/critical, and I know for myself that some (most) of my posts are not breaking ground and probably deserve better crafting, more ideas… But how do I get to that feedback that improves this blog to make it more engaging for all?

So, if I’m being true to my word, or to my motto ‘fun, focus and feedback‘, I’ve got to check with you lot if this blog is on track; and actually what it might be on track to, or what it should be. As much as I’ve dreamt of the feast of fools of feedback, now is the time to make this a reality for the blog.

Could you please tell me what you like on this blog, but more particularly what you don’t like so much, where you think I’m missing the mark, where you see interesting opportunities? 

I would just love your feedback. A simple comment will do 🙂 It could be about the topics I cover (or don’t cover), the type of posts I share, the look and feel, the conversation I have with you, anything that comes to mind!

And in addition, or perhaps to help the above, you might help me find some ideas for next posts and topics (please reply to the poll above).

I owe you, so I promise to act upon the comments I receive, and I’d be really glad to make this blog a more exciting place about agile KM and learning (for social change)…

Now the floor is yours, this is Agile KM for me… and you?

Effective Feedback - Some rules for effective feedback? (Credits: teachandlearn / FlickR)

Some rules for effective feedback? (Credits: teachandlearn / FlickR)

 

2 thoughts on “Fire your frank feedback and forecast what follows on Agile KM…

  1. Hello Nadia,

    Thank you *very much* for this great reply (and my apologies for not clearing your comment straight ahead, I just hadn’t noticed it was pending clearance). Lots of really good, simple and ‘actionable’ feedback – I’m really thankful! And all your ideas I will try and act upon, though re: the length of my posts there are specific posts (e.g. stock-taking) that require somewhat longer writing, but still it’s an excellent point!
    Thanks for all the links and the idea of inviting Christian to reflect too.

    As for the two-way street, Luis Suarez does it quite well on Google+ but in my circles a lot of people are still not very active on G+ and indeed the blog itself is not a full blown conversation space (even though you’re right, that’s what it’s meant to be)…

    Anyhow, lots of good thinking matter for the near future. Watch my future posts indeed and let me know if they’re on track, or not 😉

  2. Dear Ewen,
    I like to complement my tweet from 28.05.14 “@ewenlb: Keep blogging, inspiring and challenging! One of your blog readers @nanadia”

    In your blog posts you pick up observations and conversations, reflect and digest them, add further thinking and useful links. That’s why they are valuable to me. My modest suggestion (for my taste and fast reading habits): I would say three things you could play with: more visual, shorter posts, spicy questions.

    What’s more of a challenge is how to trigger comments or even better how to start a conversation. That’s what we want a blog to be, isn’t it? Even the Dummies say a blog is conversation (http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/writing-a-good-blog.html). Myself I am currently busy figuring out how to turn the comment button into a conversation button and to make posts “a two ways street” (see ‘Blog in Plain English’ http://youtu.be/NN2I1pWXjXI).

    Christian Kreutz came in his latest post to the conclusion that blogs are “more feasible to know whether you have reached an audience or not; you are more exposed to direct feedback and more in contact with your readers, than hiding behind a PDF, where mostly only the executive summary matters.” (http://cxed.net/1nb4fol)

    You might invite him to comment?

    One pathway I am following right now is design thinking. “Creative Confidence”(http://www.creativeconfidence.com/ great reading from the Kelly brothers) offers plenty of ideas to change perspectives for better understanding of our readers.

    And that’s what you are doing! So I hope you get more comments!

    I am curious to read your next post!
    Best, Nadia

Leave a Reply

