Blogging for what? For reflecting, for sharing, for learning, for synthesising, for…


When I started this blog, about a year and a half ago, I stepped into the darkness, I marched for the light, whose shape I couldn’t quite picture then. Blogging just sounded like a good practice to follow but, as my former manager Viktor Markowski (founder of Conosco) said, “to do what?” I hadn’t yet figured that part out. I was just enthusiastic starting something new, a characteristic of my resource investigator nature (1). And with that initial enthusiasm (which I reflected upon in this initial post) came the risk of quickly losing the energy and whimsically wanting to get on with other new exciting adventures. The risk was real, and indeed my blogging waned after a few clumsy posts.

Blogging for quality learning and sharing (photo credits: Envios)

In early 2009, I decided to confront my inconsistency head on and obliged to blog on a weekly basis, as I mentioned in a post about blogging I wrote in January last year.

Thinking back about the whole blogging enterprise now,I realise how much blogging has revolutionised my way of working and communicating. In a bright recent post that my mate Christian Kreutz wrote, a number of people refer to blogs as crucial tools for deeper reflections. I totally share these views. My own practice has benefitted from blogging – I think, but please offer your challenging views on this – on a variety of avenues:

  • First and foremost, blogging has been an unprecedented opportunity to clarify my thoughts and structure my ideas to be able to offer more clarity on the concepts, approaches and tools I use in my work. By explaining issues to myself and others, I have gained a lot of coherence in the way I express myself and argue.
  • Secondly, it has allowed me to engage with readers and reflect more deeply upon my own thinking, leading to a richer reflective learning. In this it reflects the Native American saying: “Tell me and I will forget, show me and I may not remember, involve me and I will understand”. Of course it is not as useful as physically working together but it comes close to it.
  • Thirdly it has helped me collect, organise, synthesise and repackage key resources on the topics I care for. The stock-taking post collection I started is a central premise of this effort, but generally referring to other resources is great for readers and for oneself. By the way you can still vote for the topic of my next stock-taking post here.
  • It has also allowed me to use my own creativity to write in a tone that reflects my personality and to use some of my favourite mental models, quotes and to play with words in a way that is often not possible in my ongoing (more formalised) work.
  • Furthermore, for a goldfish nature like mine, blogging has also allowed me to remember things a lot better. Writing things down has helped me carve them in a special spot in my memory. The added benefit here is that whatever is written is in turn more easily shareable with others, which is one of the main axis upon which social bookmarking rests.
  • And last, but certainly not least, the very practice of writing and reflecting on a regular basis, taking up all the above ingredients, has probably allowed me to engage in a more structured and regular learning practice that leads to discerning patterns of a finer granularity. I am a lot more aware of what I should/can do with information – of whatever nature, through talking or reading – that comes across my path. It helps me to integrate and question this information and to think about how I learn, thereby indulging in double and triple-loop learning (more about these concepts on this blogpost).

All in all, it has been for me an extraordinary journey through my consciousness and dedication and one that gives me confidence that blogging is here to stay, for a while at least, in my practice. For 2010, I therefore hope to keep blogging, to engage even more with all of you, and to see you come up with your own blogs. If you like writing or learning, really give it a go and tell me what you think! If you already have a blog, let’s share ideas and discuss!

(1)    see Belbin’s team roles for more on this – to take with measure obviously. The official Belbin website is: http://www.belbin.com/

Leave a Reply

