Blogging, and the value of continually learning from patterns: take 2


I don’t like new year resolutions, I know for a fact that they never work for me. Yet this year, considering that nothing puts me to update my personal blog on learning and knowledge management, I decided that a new year resolution could perhaps help.

I decided that I would block once every week. And guess what… I already skipped my first week of blogging. But with good reason: I was working on a paper on knowledge management strategies in the development sector, for the IKM Emergent programme. But this must be an exception – the other notable one being holiday. The value of blogging for me, not having any followers, is to really document my learning every week, systematically.

bloggingThe value of this? I expect the emergence of patterns in my work which will help understand better what I’m trying to do, and share it with others. And this is not a luxury, considering that I am involved in many projects and activities that have the advantage of allowing intense cross-pollination but at the same time reduce the depth of my analysis.

I hope blogging will help me make sense of these following activities I’m involved in: research on knowledge management for development in IKM Emergent; participation to the KM4DEV community of practice and hopefully synthesising some of the great discussions; establishing a francophone community of practice ‘a la KM4dEV’;  supporting the establishment of resource centre networks in West Africa; supporting the process of learning alliances in the WASH sector, notably in the RiPPLE project, and facilitating a session about it at the fifth World Water Forum; Supporting our partners from CREPA in West Africa to capitalise on their work and to help other institutions to synthesise the lessons they learnt and guidelines they would put forward to support decentralisation of WASH services; developing a body of work on process documentation, which we use in various projects (RiPPLE, WASHCost and others); and finally, the monitoring and evaluation work I am carrying out for my organisation, IRC, but also for these projects.

Phew… that’s no light task. And because I have to finalise that paper for IKM Emergent, I will not go further in any topic this week – gosh, skipped it again! Nevermind, next week, there’s capitalisation and resource centre development on the menu, lots of interesting insights in perspective.

I can’t wait for skipping next week’s blogging!!!

P.S. There was no take 1 on this post. This is only to mean that I am taking a second stab at my learning through blogging approach…

2 thoughts on “Blogging, and the value of continually learning from patterns: take 2

  1. I simply couldn’t depart your web site prior to suggesting that
    I extremely enjoyed the usual info a person provide in your visitors?

    Is gonna be back often to inspect new posts

  2. One message down, 20 to go?!

    If only you would have NOT kept your new year’s resolution… I wouldn’t have had so much catching up to do on my KM4DEV reading.

    But then again, it’s a good excuse to postpone my own blogging.😉

    Good luck with the blog!

Leave a Reply

