Where to start with chaos and order?


Will I ever get more certain about anything ? Just as I thought I started gathering quite some ideas on sector learning, resource centres, learning alliances, learning and knowledge management in general, my hopes to make sense of this world are crushed again – or my hopes of making sense of it the way I did are crushed.

The reason for the onslaught on my vision of the world? I’m just finishing to read Margaret Wheatley’s seminal ‘leadership and the new science’.Margaret Wheatley\'s excellent book \"Leadership and the New Science\"

This has been written a while back – this second edition is from 1999.

However, the book remains spot on on a number of ideas I think. What I take from this book is essentially a confirmation from the feeling I had that we should abide by Nature’s laws a lot more. Not go with the human flow but just go with the natural flow that we all feel in spite of cerebrally follow the forms, functions, roles and rules that we have assigned ourselves as human beings, and that we have ingrained in ourselves for too long.

Another thing that I take from this book: there is absolutely no need to focus on critical mass and on having reached a certain level. The slightest tickle in the system can provoke a gigantic reaction. Of course, this reaction will probably reach that effect through feedback loops afterwards or because it is a feedback loop of similar little ripples in the past.

But the bottomline is: go local, go for one-on-one and make the change happen there. Champions are more important than systems, or rather champions work with systems and the other way around.

Now there’s a leap before more people are ready to dive in the dark and just accept to put their deeply entrenched beliefs and old reactions aside. One doesn’t change humans like this, and the preparation of the workshop I am going to partly facilitate reminds me of this. How to change? How to become the change that we seek to achieve?

I can’t really tell but all I know is, the dynamic of change that my learning management movement is trying to achieve is very much in line with the teachings of this book, and the beautiful lattice-like shape of the KM4DEV core group trying to organise a workshop at thousands of miles’ distances in a very organic but effective way is only another testimony that indeed we need to change in order to survive, and changing and dancing with chaos is not only beautiful, it feels extremely good!!!

Confusiasm way back on the spot!!!

Leave a Reply

